• ozpublishing

TV Hall of Fame

The Television Hall of Fame was founded by John H. Mitchell, the former president of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and held it’s first induction in 1984. Mitchell and a handful of colleagues selected seven individuals to join the Television Hall of Fame. Since then, each year a certain committee is given the responsibility of choosing a few outstanding members of the television community to join the Television Hall of Fame. According to this committee, the TV Hall of Fame is a place for "persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television, based upon either cumulative contributions and achievements or a singular contribution or achievement."

This year’s induction is on March 11 and includes the inductees Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Rupert Murdoch, and Brandon Stoddard. Here’s a quick rundown on the inductees and their contributions to television!

Ray Dolby- Founder of Dolby Laboratories where technology that further advances television is created and tested.

David E. Kelley- Writer/producer. Creator of television shows such as Boston Legal, Ally McBeal, The Practice, Boston Public, Harry’s Law, Picket Fences, and Chicago Hope.

Jay Leno- TV host. Host of NBC’s Tonight Show.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus- actor. Famous roles include on Elaine Benes Seinfeld, Christine on The New Adventures of Old Christine, and Selina Meyer on Veep.

Rupert Murdoch- CEO and chairman of 21st Century Fox.

Brandon Stoddard- President of ABC. Worked to create shows such as Twin Peaks, Max Headroom, Slap Maxwell, Full House, Roseanne, China Beach, Thirtysomething, and The Wonder Years.

Featured Stories